CARA partners with a host of government, university, and community-based organizations to develop and implement programming.

Advisory Board

CARA’s Advisory Board plays a critical role in CARA’s long-term planning. Our Board reflects the diversity of CARA’s work and includes school and community-based practitioners, policymakers, academics, funders, and young people impacted by CARA’s programs.

Advisory Board members include:
  • Oona ChatterjeeDirector of Organizing & Capacity Building | Center for Popular Democracy
  • Vanessa Coca: Senior Research Associate | Hope Center for College, Community and Justice
  • Cass Conrad: Executive Director | Carroll and Milton Petrie Foundation
  • Lisa Cowan: Vice President of Programs | Robert Sterling Clark Foundation
  • Greg DarniederSenior Advisor, Steans Family Foundation & Chair | National Postsecondary Strategy Institute
  • Michelle Fine: Distinguished Professor | CUNY Graduate Center
  • David Fonseca: College Advisor | New Mission High School, College Advising Corps-Boston University
  • Bennett Lieberman: Principal | Central Park East High School
  • Lawrence Louis: Doctoral Candidate | Michigan State University
  • Allison Palmer: Director of College Access Center | New Settlement Apartments
  • Afridah Rahman: Former Youth Leader and Intern | Student at Hunter College
  • Mandy Savitz-Romer: Senior Lecturer on Education | Harvard Graduate School of Education
  • Andrea Soonachan: University Dean, K-16 Initiatives | City University of New York
  • Emily Van Ingen: Director of Programs | Cypress Hills LDC

Current and Past Funders

CARA’s work is made possible by the generous funders who have recognized the value and importance of CARA’s approach to college access and persistence.

Learn more about supporting CARA's work